Epicureans: Wheel of the Year

The Epicureans’ cover shows eight white symbols arranged in a circle.

These symbols stand for an annual cycle of seasonal festivals referred to as the Wheel of the Year.

The most well-known festivals are the summer solstice, winter solstice, spring equinox and autumnal equinox. They mark the longest day in the year, the shortest day and the days with equal day and night length.

As The Epicureans places important events at the winter solstice and summer solstice the connection between the book and these solar events is quite strong.